As of June 1, you will have 15GB to distribute between Google Photos, Gmail and Google Drive. It is better that you learn to optimize them if you do not want to spend them in a short time.
Google’s major cloud storage services is about to undergo a drastic change. From the limited space that Gmail offered at the beginning and the function to save all the photos you wanted to Google Photos for free, we are moving into a new era.
In less than a week these three services will share space and the free accounts will only get 15 GB, which runs out quickly. If you don’t want to start paying for a Google One subscription to have more space available, you better learn to optimize what you save.
In this other article we gave you tips to clean your email account a little faster and easier, which together with Google Photos are the platforms that consume the most space. You can no longer accumulate useless emails like crazy, but neither can documents. Luckily, they are easy to delete.
How to clean Google Drive?
Both in Gmail and in Drive and Google Photos we have a reminder of the space consumed up to that moment, so that we do not forget to delete files and emails regularly. Precisely, within Google Drive in the browser, that’s where we should go.
In the left side menu, we will see at the end a section called Storage, with a line that indicates the space that we have left. Click on it to see a list of the largest files that we keep in the account and for which we should start deleting.
Marking a file we can delete it by clicking on it trash can symbol which will appear on the top right line. It is also possible to use the right mouse button and click on Remove at the end of the list of functions.
All the files that we delete will end up in the Trash, but you haven’t completely deleted them. Remember to use the function Show file location to see if, in addition to that document, you can delete similar ones in that folder that you no longer need and that at least does not show Drive at the beginning of the Storage list.
Now that you’ve erased everything possible, it’s time to clean the trash. You will see that you still have the same space available as at the beginning, Google does not delete documents from the trash until 30 days later in case you regret and you want to get some back.
However, if you need free space at this time, you can force clean. Enter Trash (above Storage) and select the file that you are sure you do not need and carry out the same process: trash icon above or right click and Delete permanently.
If you want to go faster, you can press the button Empty trash. Thus, in a few minutes, you will have cleaned a large amount of space and tidied up your Google Drive account that accumulated many files that you didn’t even remember. This will give you space to store more documents, emails or Photos.